Map Size

Come here to talk about Nosferatu and related stuff.

Moderator: Dead Rabbit Software

Map Size

Postby .neo.styles on Sun Jul 23, 2006 8:50 pm

Personally, i think that Nosferatu s maps should be the size of Warrock's.
User avatar
.neo.styles
 
Posts: 1598
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:38 pm
Location: California, US of A!

Postby Icarus on Sun Jul 23, 2006 9:03 pm

The vehicle combat maps are too huge, and Nosferatu doesn't have vehicles.
Image
Ghostface wrote:Icarus answered all questions exactly the way I would have.

I qualify him officialy to answer questions like that.
User avatar
Icarus
Certified to answer nos related stuff
 
Posts: 1838
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:19 pm
Location: Israel

Postby Mort Rouge on Sun Jul 23, 2006 10:50 pm

I vote for different map sizes. Why just have one size when you can have 'em all...? :roll:
Image
User avatar
Mort Rouge
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 7:37 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Pardner on Sun Jul 23, 2006 10:58 pm

while we're talking about maps...
is there anything we can do to start mapping for nos? what do the dev team use to make their maps? gtk1.4 and q3map2? I would like to start mapping for NOS; it sounds like a really cool project. 8)
User avatar
Pardner
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 12:30 am
Location: NH, USA

Postby .neo.styles on Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:38 am

As far as I know, they are using GTK Radiant. Problem is, the learnig curve is huge.
User avatar
.neo.styles
 
Posts: 1598
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:38 pm
Location: California, US of A!

Postby Icarus on Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:33 am

|_}UM{--}G{_|FeAR wrote:As far as I know, they are using GTK Radiant. Problem is, the learnig curve is huge.


Not really, I learnt how to make basic maps with Radiant within a couple of days from some tutorial. To get good at it and learn all the extra awesome orgasmic stuff takes a bit longer though.
Image
Ghostface wrote:Icarus answered all questions exactly the way I would have.

I qualify him officialy to answer questions like that.
User avatar
Icarus
Certified to answer nos related stuff
 
Posts: 1838
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:19 pm
Location: Israel

Postby CriX on Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:58 am

Radiant is as easy as blender.
Image
User avatar
CriX
Dead Rabbit Software
Dead Rabbit Software
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:39 pm

Postby Razorb on Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:13 am

radiant is actually very easy.. imo anyways... some people just pick it up faster than others i guess... unlucky fear guess ur skill comes down to just whoring up the forums :P
User avatar
Razorb
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 3:09 pm
Location: UK

Postby Darkflame on Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:06 pm

CriX wrote:Radiant is as easy as blender.


So all your doing to make maps is adding random shit and hitting Frappe(spelling?)?
Image
User avatar
Darkflame
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:22 pm
Location: Stargate Command

Postby .neo.styles on Mon Jul 24, 2006 2:16 pm

CriX wrote:Radiant is as easy as blender.
My point exactly.
According to a post on their site, the programmer was nursing a a hangover when he did the interface.
User avatar
.neo.styles
 
Posts: 1598
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:38 pm
Location: California, US of A!

Postby Pardner on Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:07 pm

|_}UM{--}G{_|FeAR wrote:As far as I know, they are using GTK Radiant. Problem is, the learnig curve is huge.

I already know how to use radiant. Why answer a question that you dont know the answer to?


can the dev team confirm fears guess? I have gtk1.4 and q3map2 compiler; could I use this to start mapping for NOS? What about map scale, will it be about the same size as Q3?
User avatar
Pardner
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 12:30 am
Location: NH, USA

Postby .neo.styles on Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:28 pm

BaaL wrote:
|_}UM{--}G{_|FeAR wrote:As far as I know, they are using GTK Radiant. Problem is, the learnig curve is huge.

I already know how to use radiant. Why answer a question that you dont know the answer to?


can the dev team confirm fears guess? I have gtk1.4 and q3map2 compiler; could I use this to start mapping for NOS? What about map scale, will it be about the same size as Q3?

I was hoping that he maps were medium sized not extremely tiny like in CS.
User avatar
.neo.styles
 
Posts: 1598
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:38 pm
Location: California, US of A!

Postby Pardner on Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:42 pm

map size and map scale are two different things: map size is up to the mapper and how the game handles big maps. map scale is the size of the rooms, funriture, etc compared to the player models. I dont want to go making a map only to realize that my rooms are too massive (or too small) for the game.
User avatar
Pardner
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 12:30 am
Location: NH, USA

Postby .neo.styles on Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:52 pm

I would love to see Havana from Warrock ported over to Nosferatu. It would kick so much ass, it might cause someone to pass out.
User avatar
.neo.styles
 
Posts: 1598
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:38 pm
Location: California, US of A!

Postby Mort Rouge on Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:25 pm

|_}UM{--}G{_|FeAR wrote:I would love to see Havana from Warrock ported over to Nosferatu. It would kick so much ass, it might cause someone to pass out.


I'm not sure that it would fit into the balance. I haven't played it, but I don't think that there is some good stuff for the vampires. And it would so lack the atmosphere of the rest of the game.
Image
User avatar
Mort Rouge
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 7:37 pm
Location: Sweden

Next

Return to General Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron