physics system

Constructive criticism and comments, please.

Moderator: Dead Rabbit Software

Postby Alucard on Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:09 pm

Well lets hope the death animations.

My god I love that tiger little tiger avatar! :D
Image
User avatar
Alucard
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:50 am
Location: Castlevania

Postby spookie1337 on Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:30 pm

what if the bodies stayed there?
aka |_}UM{--}G{_|FeAR
User avatar
spookie1337
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 3:06 am

Postby Pardner on Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:52 pm

They just lay there. no ragdoll, no nothing.

Unless they do something to hide the body...for instance in quake3 they made the bodies gib when hit by a projectile.
User avatar
Pardner
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 12:30 am
Location: NH, USA

Postby spookie1337 on Wed Feb 21, 2007 9:57 pm

death anims arent scripted?
aka |_}UM{--}G{_|FeAR
User avatar
spookie1337
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 3:06 am

Postby Alucard on Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:13 pm

Well I'm assuming they are but once a player respawns then his dead body, if it wasn't gibbed by an explosion or something, should disappear so we don't have dozens of dead bodies lying around.
Image
User avatar
Alucard
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:50 am
Location: Castlevania

Postby TheFrog4u on Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:25 am

we have/making death-animations. The Mpas won´t be full of dead body cause nos is round based.. you have only one life, vampires respawn in their body if you don´t stake them.. and if you do so there will be a burn-like special effect when they disapear.
azelito wrote:So let's write that in the manual "Don't hold the button. Because that sucks"

Image
TheFrog4u
Dead Rabbit Software
Dead Rabbit Software
 
Posts: 868
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 1:35 pm
Location: Germany, Niedersachsen

Postby Kilt Gaston on Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:47 am

sounds interesting, I'll be looking forward to staking me some Vamps then. :D

[edit] lol @ Spookie's sig. [/edit]
User avatar
Kilt Gaston
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:58 am
Location: Western Canada

Postby dgmurdockiii on Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:01 am

what about suporting the phisysic card since you can get the SDK for free now
dgmurdockiii
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:17 pm

Postby Ghostface on Sat Feb 24, 2007 9:55 am

dgmurdockiii wrote:what about suporting the phisysic card since you can get the SDK for free now


I can give you a definite answer on this one : NO

Why ?

1. I don't have such a card
2. Most players don't have such a card
3. It would be overkill for the kind and amount of physics calculation we would use in nosferatu.
Image
Sex is like hacking. You get in, you get out, and you hope you didn't leave something behind that can be traced back
User avatar
Ghostface
Dead Rabbit Software
Dead Rabbit Software
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 4:19 pm
Location: Vienna - Austria

Postby .ky on Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:43 am

ya i suggest using the "novodex " phisycs engine or the "havok" ....


if you can convert em
Image
User avatar
.ky
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:07 am

Postby Mort Rouge on Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:01 pm

.ky wrote:ya i suggest using the "novodex " phisycs engine or the "havok" ....


if you can convert em


They are not for free, and they can't be implented in this engine.
Image
User avatar
Mort Rouge
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 7:37 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby TheFrog4u on Tue Mar 20, 2007 8:40 pm

there won´t be physics.. not in the first beta an perhaps never.. so discussing about it is wasted time..
if physics ever willl be added it will be an open source physic engine..
@Mort Rouge: why shouldn´t it be possible to implement novodex or havok?
an example: hl2 uses havok.. source and qfusion are based on the same basic engine.. we even use some parts very similar to source.. but ghost could answer more detailed..
azelito wrote:So let's write that in the manual "Don't hold the button. Because that sucks"

Image
TheFrog4u
Dead Rabbit Software
Dead Rabbit Software
 
Posts: 868
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 1:35 pm
Location: Germany, Niedersachsen

Postby Mort Rouge on Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:49 am

TheFrog4u wrote:there won´t be physics.. not in the first beta an perhaps never.. so discussing about it is wasted time..
if physics ever willl be added it will be an open source physic engine..
@Mort Rouge: why shouldn´t it be possible to implement novodex or havok?
an example: hl2 uses havok.. source and qfusion are based on the same basic engine.. we even use some parts very similar to source.. but ghost could answer more detailed..


Well, i don't know :P! :roll:
Image
User avatar
Mort Rouge
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 7:37 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Ghostface on Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:16 pm

They could be implemented yes and yes they cost a lot of money, and yes it wouldn't be easy or a 5 minute job.

Oh and Source is based on Halflife1 which was based on Quake 1 while we are based on Quake 2 :P
Image
Sex is like hacking. You get in, you get out, and you hope you didn't leave something behind that can be traced back
User avatar
Ghostface
Dead Rabbit Software
Dead Rabbit Software
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 4:19 pm
Location: Vienna - Austria

Postby .ky on Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:27 am

can't u just make like a contract , you put the logo in the game , but you can use their physics?
Image
User avatar
.ky
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:07 am

PreviousNext

Return to Suggestions and Comments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron