Freeware games

Offtopic stuff goes here...

Moderator: Dead Rabbit Software

Postby s][n on Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:53 am

I noticed you guys didn't list Gunz: The Duel...

http://www.gunzonline.com

Its a free FPS game and its awesome.

http://www.maplestory.com

I'm not sure if you listed it but its a pretty good 2d MMORPG game...

BUT TRY GUNZ
YOU MUST.

btw...when nosferatu comes out...will xfire (http://www.xfire.com) support it?
“Medi Vita In Morte Sumus”
User avatar
s][n
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 1:09 am
Location: Your mind/Tx

Postby TheFrog4u on Fri Aug 05, 2005 9:51 am

in reply to gunz: wow looks pretty cool, i´ll have a look!

in reply to xfire: I think they only support retail games, but who knows.. if nosferatu became VERY popular.. we´ll see (same for other programs like gamespy (acarde) or the all seeing aye) it´s not up to us to take this decission, but we have our own world-server, stats and so on, so..
azelito wrote:So let's write that in the manual "Don't hold the button. Because that sucks"

Image
TheFrog4u
Dead Rabbit Software
Dead Rabbit Software
 
Posts: 868
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 1:35 pm
Location: Germany, Niedersachsen

Postby Icarus on Fri Aug 05, 2005 10:34 am

Gunz didnt work for me, and my friend said it screwed over his USB ports, and crashed his internet. So yeah.

I also HATE X-Fire. Worst thing I've ever seen.
Image
Ghostface wrote:Icarus answered all questions exactly the way I would have.

I qualify him officialy to answer questions like that.
User avatar
Icarus
Certified to answer nos related stuff
 
Posts: 1839
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:19 pm
Location: Israel

Postby Mort Rouge on Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:03 am

Icarus wrote:Gunz didnt work for me, and my friend said it screwed over his USB ports, and crashed his internet. So yeah.

I also HATE X-Fire. Worst thing I've ever seen.


???

Xfire's quite nice, I think. Ingame chat windows, server listing out of the program...
Image
User avatar
Mort Rouge
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 7:37 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Pete on Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:43 pm

Yeah, Xfire owns you. I see nothing wrong with it, even though I rarely use it.
Image
User avatar
Pete
team pelvicTHRUST
team pelvicTHRUST
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:30 pm
Location: C:/Earth/England/Coventry

Postby s][n on Fri Aug 05, 2005 7:20 pm

Well Xfire supports alot of stuff as long as people request it to the mods...and I know a couple of mods...they don't just support retail games...gunz is free and they support it...heck they even support gary's mod for Half-Life 2...it just depends on what the people want...and it doesnt suck... :cry:
“Medi Vita In Morte Sumus”
User avatar
s][n
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 1:09 am
Location: Your mind/Tx

Postby Mort Rouge on Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:50 am

s][n, I'm having some troubles with Gunz... I can't log on to a server, all the other player gets 999 ping and freezes. It says "Agent not found". I coudnlt find some real help at the official forums..

...

HELP!

(The game surely looks good... ) :roll:
Image
User avatar
Mort Rouge
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 7:37 pm
Location: Sweden

See if this helps...

Postby s][n on Sat Aug 06, 2005 10:34 pm

"999 PING AND AGENT ERRORS


* Check to see if you have a firewall enabled, this maybe the default windows XP firewall or an external item like a router, if so check to see if this program or hardware allows the same port as gunz wants to use to pass through.
* If you do not use a router or firewall and the problem is appearing from using the modem directly, some company stocked modems feature built in firewalls (like most microsoft cable modems do), these can only be edited by the ISP, a program they gave you or on there special website with management tools (not many have this problem though)
* Try changing the port that gunz uses by going into the gunz menu and editing the number, some people have had good luck with this method for unknown reasons, maybe your pc hates port 7700.
* If you use a router or a fiewall that supports the same sort of features, make sure ports 7700 are open as well as any other port you change to in the gunz menu, this has helped alot of people.
* If your internet speed is slow, your max players per game is limited by quite a bit, some 512/128 internet users may find there fine with 8 players but lag to 999 for everyone if in a 16 player game."

The thread this was taken from:
http://www.gunzonline.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=9930
“Medi Vita In Morte Sumus”
User avatar
s][n
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 1:09 am
Location: Your mind/Tx

Postby Icarus on Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:19 am

I'm on 1MB ADSL, and I turned my firewall off when playing. So its not a problem on my side of things. It's just that the Gunz developers probably dont know what compatibility means.
Image
Ghostface wrote:Icarus answered all questions exactly the way I would have.

I qualify him officialy to answer questions like that.
User avatar
Icarus
Certified to answer nos related stuff
 
Posts: 1839
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:19 pm
Location: Israel

Postby Gredinus on Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:23 am

i have the same connection as you icarus. i dont turn my firewall off and it still works fine.

P.S. im lvl 5 now
Gredinus
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 7:41 pm
Location: Slovenia

Postby lillbrorsan on Sun Aug 07, 2005 7:13 am

I can't even login to a server on GunZ, says incorrect password.
Image

http://www.lillbrorsan.webb.se - My private website with online portfolio
User avatar
lillbrorsan
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Pete on Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:46 am

That's apparently something to do with a patch, we were talking about it in the IRC channel. :)

You can't play if you don't have the patch, but if you install the patch, it's bugged so you can't play (so i've heard).
Image
User avatar
Pete
team pelvicTHRUST
team pelvicTHRUST
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:30 pm
Location: C:/Earth/England/Coventry

Postby Dan on Sun Aug 07, 2005 3:07 pm

GunZ is in a super early beta type thing, and they *are* foreign to us Western imperialists. You can't really blame them if it doesn't work all the way over here.
User avatar
Dan
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:59 am
Location: Ohio-land!

Postby tannar on Sun Aug 07, 2005 7:25 pm

im downloading gunz right now, hope it works.
tannar
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:08 pm
Location: Germany

Postby tannar on Mon Aug 08, 2005 10:17 am

WTF is GUNZ, is it a spyware or virus? i played it 1 hour and then my internet connection was CUT for about 12 Hoursd and i wasnt able to connect to the internet.
tannar
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:08 pm
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Offtopic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron